NatureSphere

Eye Health Supplements: An Independent Guide and Comparison

Updated 2026-10-09 · NatureSphere Editorial Team

Disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. This content is for information only and is not medical advice — talk to your doctor before starting any supplement.

Vision supplements are one of the most heavily advertised categories online, and also one of the most confusing. Some products are built on decades of federal research. Others rely on video sales pages, hidden doses and promises no supplement can keep. NatureSphere is an independent research site that reads the official product pages, checks the claims against public health sources, and lays out what you can and cannot verify before you buy.

We do not test products ourselves and we do not publish ratings. We summarize what manufacturers state in text on their official websites and what organizations such as the National Eye Institute, the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the NCCIH say about the ingredients.

Can a supplement improve your eyesight?

No supplement has been shown to restore lost vision or replace glasses, contacts or medical treatment. The best evidence for eye nutrition comes from the AREDS and AREDS2 trials run by the National Eye Institute. They found that a specific high-dose formula lowered the risk of progression to advanced age-related macular degeneration (AMD) in people who already had intermediate AMD. It did not help people without that diagnosis and did not prevent cataracts.

So the honest role of an eye supplement is narrow: filling dietary gaps, or, for people an eye doctor has diagnosed with intermediate AMD, following the AREDS2 formula. If your vision has changed, the first step is an eye exam. Read our AREDS2 explainer for the details.

How do popular vision supplements compare?

The table below covers the online vision supplements we track. Everything comes from each official website's text; anything shown only in images, or not shown at all, is marked as not disclosed.

Product Form Key ingredients (per the manufacturer) Price per bottle (official site) Guarantee Best for
OptiPlax Capsule, 1/day Kelp, wakame, astaxanthin, chlorella, Ecklonia cava Not shown in text 60 days People curious about algae carotenoids, once-daily routine
EyeFortin Liquid, 2 droppers/day Niacin, amino acids, Alpha GPC, coleus forskohlii, eyebright, huperzine A Not shown in text 60 days People who prefer liquids and have no drug conflicts
Visium Plus Capsule 28 items incl. vitamin E, B6, zinc, copper, selenium, saw palmetto, goldenseal $69 (1 bottle) 60 days Buyers wanting a full ingredient list and one-bottle trial
TheyaVue Veggie capsule, 2/day "24 antioxidants" (names shown only in an image) $59 / $49 / $39 (1 / 3 / 6 bottles) 60 days Buyers who want clear prices and refund steps
SharpVision Not stated in text Not listed in text $79 / $69 / $49 (2 / 3 / 6 bottles) 60 days Buyers committing to a multi-bottle supply
OptiCore Pro Not stated in text Details not disclosed in text Details not disclosed in text 60 days Not enough information to assess
ClearVision Not verified Official page could not be accessed for review Not verified Not verified Not enough information to assess
Clear Crystal Vision Not stated in text Details not disclosed in text Details not disclosed in text Not stated in text Not enough information to assess

Prices change often. Always confirm the current price, shipping and refund terms at checkout.

What do the products we track have in common?

All of these products are sold online through video or long-letter sales pages, with checkout handled by the retailer BuyGoods. All carry the standard disclaimer that they are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. None links to a published clinical trial of its own formula. And, notably, none names lutein or zeaxanthin in the text of its official page, even though those two carotenoids are the best-studied eye nutrients.

Several pages also share the same template and FAQ wording. That is common in affiliate networks and does not mean the products are identical; EyeFortin and OptiPlax, for example, look alike online but contain completely different ingredients.

Which eye nutrients have the most research?

The nutrients with the strongest evidence are those in the AREDS2 formula:

Ingredients like bilberry, eyebright, astaxanthin and seaweed extracts have far less human research. The NCCIH, for example, says there is not enough evidence that bilberry improves vision.

How do you choose a vision supplement?

Use a short checklist before buying any eye supplement:

  1. Know why you are taking it. A diagnosis of intermediate AMD points to an AREDS2 formula. Screen fatigue usually responds better to habits; see our screen eye strain guide.
  2. Read the full label. Look for named nutrients with milligram amounts, not a proprietary blend.
  3. Compare with AREDS2 doses if macular health is your goal.
  4. Check interactions. Vitamin E, goldenseal, huperzine A and iodine-rich seaweeds all have known cautions.
  5. Ignore urgency and scarcity tactics such as countdowns and "only until today."
  6. Work out the cost per day and read the refund page before ordering.

Our full label-reading checklist explains each step.

Who should not take eye supplements without medical advice?

Talk to a doctor or pharmacist first if you are pregnant or nursing, under 18, taking prescription medicine (especially blood thinners, thyroid, blood pressure or Alzheimer's medicines), or have liver or kidney disease. People who smoke or used to smoke should avoid high-dose beta-carotene. Anyone with a diagnosed eye disease, such as macular degeneration, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy or cataracts, needs an eye doctor's plan; a supplement is never a substitute.

Sudden vision loss, flashes of light, a shower of new floaters or a curtain over your vision are emergencies. Seek care right away.

Which comparison should you read next?

If you are deciding between specific products, these side-by-side pages lay out the trade-offs fairly:

See TheyaVue prices on the official site

See OptiPlax on the official site

How does NatureSphere review products?

We read each product's official sales page in its text form, note only what is stated in writing, and flag contradictions, such as differing shipping fees or "FDA approved" wording. We cross-check ingredient information against federal health sources and update pages when the official offer changes. Learn more on our about page and read our affiliate disclosure.

Product reviews on this site

Sources consulted: nei.nih.gov, ods.od.nih.gov, nccih.nih.gov.

Frequently asked questions

Do eye vitamins really work?

The AREDS2 formula has good evidence for slowing progression in people with intermediate AMD. Evidence for other uses and for most branded blends is limited.

Can eye supplements restore vision?

No supplement has been shown to restore lost vision. See an eye doctor for any change in your eyesight.

Are these vision supplements sold in stores?

The products we track are sold online through their official websites, with checkout by BuyGoods.

Does NatureSphere test the products?

No. We summarize official product information and public research; we do not test products or publish ratings.